The Montessori method recognizes that learning is a lifelong journey that continues long after high school and college.  Since life doesn’t always group people by age, the Montessori classroom will have multiple age groups in a classroom at once (e.g. 3-6) and different learning levels. This allows the older children to develop their leadership skills by helping out the younger children and develops an anticipation in the younger children to get up to the level of learning they see the older children at.

Montessori classrooms have five sections:

1.       Language

2.      Math

3.       Practical life

4.      Sensorial

5.       Culture

Our program includes a curriculum that can help children learn English & Hebrew alphabet letters, but is also equipped to teach them reading and writing when they’re ready.

The math section helps them learn the value of numbers (with real, tangible units) but is ready to help them master addition, subtraction, and even multiplication!

The practical life section allows children to practice the skills they need to become independent in their day to day life while at the same time developing their fine motor skills, coordination, sense of order, social skills, and concentration levels. Children use child-sized versions of adult tools to sweep, pour, scoop, tie, wash, zip, fold, and prepare food, among other skills. Practical life materials allow children to learn how to care for and take responsibility of themselves and their environment and gives them a sense of pride in themselves when they accomplish a challenging task.

The purpose of the sensorial section is to refine each of the child’s senses by isolating that sense in an activity. For example, the pink tower is all one color so that the child can see the difference in the size of the cubes as they go from biggest to smallest. The sensorial materials stimulate cognitive development and develop the ability to classify. This section also indirectly develops many building block skills necessary in the intellectual areas of learning. For example, the knobbed cylinders are designed to develop the proper pincer grasp to hold a pencil.

The cultural awareness section empowers children to care for others and establishes their place in the world. The culture section includes zoology, botany, geography, history, science and art. Since we are a Jewish program and have such a rich culture, in our classroom many of the cultural subjects are introduced around the Jewish calendar.  For example, we teach about trees before Tu B’Shvat, the Jewish birthday of the trees.  This way, the children realize that even learning about trees is Jewish!